Independent Spirit Award Nominees

The Independent Spirit Award nominees were announced on Tuesday, November 24th. The list includes several Undergraduate Film & Television alumni. 

Anomalisa, written and directed by Charlie Kaufman, received three nominations: Best Feature, Best Director, and Best Screenplay. 

Tangerine, co-written and directed by alum Sean Baker, received four nominations: Best Feature, Best Director, Best Female Lead (Kitana Kiki Rodriguez), and Best Supporting Female (Mya Taylor). 

James White, written and directed by Josh Mond, produced by fellow alums Antonio Campos and Sean Durkin, received three nominations: Best First Feature, Best Male Lead (Christopher Abbott) and Best Supporting Female (Cynthia Nixon).

Several other alumni were also nominated. Reed Morano received a Best Cinematography nod for Meadowland. Both Felix Thompson and Chloe Zhao are up for the Kiehl's Someone to Watch Award (for the films King Jack and Songs My Brothers Taught Me, respectively).